The Lebanese Parliament. Photo credit: François el Bacha for All rights reserved.

Outgoing Interior Minister Mohammed Fahmi said the parliamentary by-elections will be held at the end of March in Lebanon. This would replace 10 MPs who have resigned or died.

As a reminder, 8 deputies had resigned in order to demand early parliamentary elections following the explosion of the port of Beirut on 4 August 2020. These include MP Sami Gemayel, Elias Hankash for the Metn, Paula Yacoubian, Nadim Gemayel for Beirut’s first constituency, Neemat Frem for Kesrouan, Michel Mouawad, Marwan Hamadé and Henri Hélou.

2 MPs – Michel Murr and Jean Obeid – also died as a result of coronavirus COVID19 contamination.

Si vous avez trouvé une coquille ou une typo, veuillez nous en informer en sélectionnant le texte en question et en appuyant sur Ctrl + Entrée . Cette fonctionnalité est disponible uniquement sur un ordinateur.